Writing is like taking your clothes off..

 

  • a brief introduction of the kind of jobs you will be seeking

I have a hard time discussing what kind of jobs that I will be seeking once I finish college.  When I finished my bachelor’s in the spring of 2009, I started looking for jobs that were all over the map.  Since the economy was so bad, I basically applied at any place that had an open position and required a general bachelor’s degree.  After a few months, I realized that I was applying and interviewing at jobs that I really did not want.  So to those who interviewed me or considered my resume, I extend my apologizes.  Then, at the beginning of August 2009, I applied to the one place that I was good at and felt confortable, but unfortunately doesn’t pay: graduate school.  I applied to the English program a month late, and I got accepted.  Then, once I realized that I was back in the place that I loved, I realized that one day I can have a job in the place that I love, so I want to teach college.  I’m not sure if I will go full Ph.D. and get a professorship, but that is a dream of mine.  Considering outside circumstances, I might settle for adjunct faculty and teach a couple of classes a week.  I also have other goals for myself, including starting my own business and freelance writing.  Being the narcissist and neurotic control freak that I am, I want a hodge-podge of various jobs that will keep me entertained, give me autonomy, and let me control my own hours of the day.  I won’t lie, I want to make money too.  Yes, I decided to go to graduate school to “further myself,” but I had other motives also, like making more money, avoiding my student loans, and not finding favorable employment in this dump of an econcomy.

  •  a discussion of possible themes for your portfolio.

So when considering possible themes for my portfolio, I’ve decided to keep it very candid and uncensored.  This portfolio is my place to show what I ‘ve got, where I’m going, what I’ve done so far,  and most importantly, who I am.  I spent the majority of my time in previous years being “professional,” that I had this censorship lingering about what is acceptable.  I’ll keep all of this light and open.  My CV is posted on here, and I am proud of my accomplishments, and that took alot of time to admit.  I used to think that I never did anything noteworthy, but when I see my life moves published, I think I did some good work so far.  Here’s the deal: I can write, but technically or scientifically, and I think you’ll see that.  I’ve done some pretty good research, and I’ve done an excellent job writing it up and communicating it in my particular discourse that I was trained in.  I’ll keep writing technically because I learned that this type of writing is an extremely important and valuable skill.  But, I want to grow in theoretical writing and personal writing because I have always feared that kind of writing.  Personal writing is alot like taking your clothes off… the layers start coming off and your layers are exposed; nothing to hide.  So, not only will you see my technical writing, you’ll be exposed to the inside and see the theoretical and the creative writing that I’m recently learned how to do.  I’m learning, and that’s a good thing.  I’m getting better at what I know how to do, and I’m learning about what I’m scared to do.  These are the various themes I hope to accomplish.

  • a list/brief discussion (like an annotated bibliography) of two online portfolios that you have found (these can be in WordPress or otherwise) and like that you could use as examples/models.

http://crossbronx.wordpress.com/2009/09/15/tools/

This first online portfolio that I have come across during my surf was one called CrossBronx.  This is a portfolio that keeps posts about how to write in various methods, including book proposals and grants for the arts.  It also includes helpful posts about copywrites, freelance jobs, and writing  jobs.  I would like to use this as a model because not only does the author write content about writing, but he also includes various topics that are resourceful for people in the profession.  I was attracted to this site because of its various content, and this is a goal I hope to accomplish in my own portfolio.

http://gloriastockstill.wordpress.com/2009/04/27/true-writers/

The other portfolio that I have come across that I would like to use as a model is one by  Gloria Stockstill called True Writers.  This site is both personal and professional because Stockstill includes personal posts and professional posts.  She not only speaks of her grandson being an avid reader, but she speaks of writer’s conferences.  This is a personal portfolio that includes professional content and this is another goal that I wish to obtain in my portfolio.  To illustrate all of her posts, Stockstill includes a single photograph to all of her posts, which allows the reader to develop an image of the moment, personal or professional, that she is writing about.  I want to have many themes in my portfolio, and I wish to approach it similar to the way Stockstill has. 

  • an outline of the sections that you might eventually include in your portfolio and some of the content that you could include within them.

As discussed previously, my content will be all over the place.  I will include technical content, theoretical content, creative content, and personal content.  Through this, I hope to grow in all fields and keep a diverse portfolio.  I want my portfolio to be professionally personal because that gives readers a chance to not only connect with the content but connect with the author.  I want to show the many sides of me as a writer and I hope to be able to grow in many types of writing and talents.

~ by Dana on November 24, 2009.

Leave a comment